Item

Mini oral history with David Downs, 02/20/2021

Media

Title (Dublin Core)

Mini oral history with David Downs, 02/20/2021
David Downs Oral History, 2021/02/20

Description (Dublin Core)

Interviewee: David Downs
Interviewer: Alisha Downs
Date: 03/20/2021
Location (Interviewee): Augusta, Kansas
Location (Interviewer): Augusta, Kansas
Transcriber: Alisha Downs

Abstract: David Downs is a man of very few words. He is 64 years old and works a laborious job in an aircraft plant for Textron Aviation. He also manages a home with many animals, including horses. When I asked him to do an interview, he wasn’t terribly excited, as you can see by the short answers and hear by the bored voice. However, he did admit that time off work was a silver lining in the pandemic, as well as getting to spend more time with his family.

Recording Date (Dublin Core)

Creator (Dublin Core)

Contributor (Dublin Core)

Event Identifier (Dublin Core)

Partner (Dublin Core)

Type (Dublin Core)

oral history

Controlled Vocabulary (Dublin Core)

Curator's Tags (Omeka Classic)

Contributor's Tags (a true folksonomy) (Friend of a Friend)

Collection (Dublin Core)

Date Submitted (Dublin Core)

02/21/2021

Date Modified (Dublin Core)

03/13/2021
09/05/2021

Date Created (Dublin Core)

02/20/2021

Interviewer (Bibliographic Ontology)

Alisha Downs

Interviewee (Bibliographic Ontology)

David Downs

Location (Omeka Classic)

Augusta
Kansas
United States

Format (Dublin Core)

mp3

Language (Dublin Core)

English

Duration (Omeka Classic)

0h:01m:20s

Transcription (Omeka Classic)

AD: Hi, my name is Alisha Downs I’m an undergraduate student as ASU enrolled in HST 494. The date is February, 20th of 2021 and the time is 8:35 AM, and I am speaking with David Downs. I want to ask you a question about your pandemic experience, before I do, I would like to ask for your consent to record this response for the COVID-19 archive. The COVID-19 archive is a digital archive at ASU that is collecting pandemic experiences. Do I have your consent to record your response and add it to the archive with your name?

DD: Yes.

AD: Thank you! First, can you tell me your name and your age?

DD: David Downs, I’m 64.

AD: And you are, your race?

DD: White.

AD: And where do you live?

DD: In Augusta, Kansas.

AD: Augusta, Kansas. Thank you! Now I’d like to ask you a quick question about the pandemic. We’ve experienced a lot of changes in 2020 and many have been negative and disruptive. But perhaps it’s not all bad. What’s one positive thing you’ve experienced during the pandemic?

DD: I guess I got to stay off work and spend time with my family.

AD: Oh, you enjoy spending time with your family, yeah I get that! Well, thank you for your time today.

Item sets

This item was submitted on February 21, 2021 by Alisha Downs using the form “Share Your Story” on the site “A Journal of the Plague Year”: https://covid-19archive.org/s/archive

Click here to view the collected data.

New Tags

I recognize that my tagging suggestions may be rejected by site curators. I agree with terms of use and I accept to free my contribution under the licence CC BY-SA